Epic, part 2

Pounding feet on frosty streets,
Every movement stiff at first,
Then slowly joints begin to ease:
A rhythm builds, my breath in bursts.
A car goes past whose glaring lights
Illuminate the night-time street
Then pass on by and leave me, blind:
No longer can I see my feet.
They’ve disappeared in velvet black,
And as the pavement bumps and dips,
I feel each tiny lump and crack
Like swelling waves beneath a ship.
I stumble, and my pace grows slow
Uncertain now my tread; but then,
I reach a welcome orange glow;
The pavement levels out again.

Buzz: kilometre one at five fifty-one.

Leave a Reply

